Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Law Council of Australia


Contributions honoured at Gala Dinner

4 December 2023

ACT solicitor-advocate, Di Simpson’s commitment to reforming family law on behalf of the community and her contribution to the legal profession were honoured at Friday night’s Law Council of Australia Gala Dinner where she received the 2023 President’s Award.

“The President’s Award recognises an individual for their outstanding contribution to the legal profession,” Law Council of Australia President, Mr Luke Murphy said “There can be no doubt that Di is an exceptionally deserving recipient.

“Di has been the backbone of advocacy for family law reform at both a territory and national level for over a decade, serving on the ACT Law Society’s Family Law Committee since 2012 and the Law Council’s Family Law Section Executive since 2016.

“Di is currently Chair of the Family Law Section, a role that demands a lot of time and effort, but which she approaches with enthusiasm, dedication and grace. “Under her guidance, the Law Council has been a key and respected voice on some of the most significant developments in family law. This has included the merger of the Family and Federal Circuit Court; development of the National Plan to End Violence against Women and Children, and more recent legislative change through the Family Law Amendment Bill.”

Ms Simpson is a founding member of DDCS Lawyers. She regularly presents to students, lawyers and other professionals about family law and professional development and is actively engaged in mentoring and supporting the development of young practitioners.

“The contribution Di has made, and continues to make, will have a lasting and positive impact on our community,” Mr Murphy said.

Two additional honours were bestowed during last night’s event, with the Honourable Susan Kiefel AC, former Chief Justice of the High Court, and Dr Gordon Hughes AM awarded Honorary Membership of the Law Council.

“The Directors of the Law Council of Australia were unanimous in their support of our extending lifetime membership to Dr Hughes and Ms Kiefel,” Mr Murphy revealed.

“Ms Kiefel was an outstanding steward of the High Court of Australia throughout her tenure and has made a significant contribution to Australia’s jurisprudence and the rule of law.

“Dr Hughes is currently the Secretary-General of LAWASIA, and a past President of both LAWASIA and the Law Council, and was nominated for his extraordinary and generous work for this organisation as well as the Law Council and the South Pacific Lawyers’ Association.

“In the awarding of Honorary Membership, the Law Council recognises that both Ms Kiefel and Dr Hughes are models of the best spirit of the profession.”


Kristen Connell
P. 0400 054 227


Related Documents

Most recent items

Trending Items