Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Law Council of Australia

Federal Dispute Resolution Section

The Young Federal Litigation Lawyer of the Year Award

The Young Federal Litigation Lawyer of the Year award is given to a young lawyer who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of federal litigation and dispute resolution. Each recipient of the award is recognised for their contribution to the practice of federal litigation and dispute resolution and, where relevant, their contribution to the legal and wider community.

The award is given annually by the Federal Dispute Resolution Section of the Law Council of Australia. 

2024 Round - Call for nominations 

The 2024 nomination round for the Young Federal Litigation Lawyer of the Year Award is now closed. For information about next year's award, please email,

2023 winner – Mr Rob Andersen

Mr Rob Andersen is a senior associate in the dispute resolution practice at Ashurst in Canberra. Rob works with government and private clients in civil, public law and regulatory matters, as well as inquiries and Royal Commissions. Rob is experienced with common law and statutory liability issues. He acts for and against regulators in civil penalty proceedings and investigations, and has experience in industrial, disability and financial services regulatory matters in particular.

He has achieved successful outcomes for clients defending negligence and intentional tort claims. He has helped clients to recover losses in contract and equity, including in a significant employee fraud matter. He has successfully defended general protections claims made under the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth).

The Federal Dispute Resolution Section had the opportunity to interview Rob. Read the interview here.


For more information, please contact the Section Administrator:

Ms Chelsea De Silva
Executive Officer
T. 02 6246 3722


Related Documents