Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Law Council of Australia

About Us

2023: Ms Di Simpson

Law Council President, Mr Luke Murphy, presented the 2023 President's Award to ACT solicitor-advocate, Di Simpson, at the Law Council Gala Dinner on 1 December 2023. 

  Caption: Ms Di Simpson, 2023 President's Award recipient and Mr Luke Murphy, Law Council of Australia President. 

Ms Simpson is a founding member of DDCS Lawyers. She regularly presents to students, lawyers and other professionals about family law and professional development and is actively engaged in mentoring and supporting the development of young practitioners.

President Murphy said,“Di has been the backbone of advocacy for family law reform at both a territory and national level for over a decade, serving on the ACT Law Society’s Family Law Committee since 2012 and the Law Council’s Family Law Section Executive since 2016. Di is currently Chair of the Family Law Section, a role that demands a lot of time and effort, but which she approaches with enthusiasm, dedication and grace."

“Under her guidance, the Law Council has been a key and respected voice on some of the most significant developments in family law. This has included the merger of the Family and Federal Circuit Court; development of the National Plan to End Violence against Women and Children, and more recent legislative change through the Family Law Amendment Bill. The contribution Di has made, and continues to make, will have a lasting and positive impact on our community,” said Mr Murphy.